Student Awards Ceremony 2014-2015

The 2014-2015 Student Awards Ceremony was held Thursday, May 14, 2015, at the Smith Center on the Fremont campus. The ceremony was preceded by a reception in the lobby of the Smith Center.

Were you there? View photos from the May 2015 Student Awards Ceremony!

In the event’s program, Ohlone College President Gari Browning extended the following welcome to those attending the ceremony:

Welcome to Ohlone College’s annual Student Awards Ceremony. This event recognizes the achievement of our students as determined by those who know them best, their faculty. Each student receiving an award tonight represents excellence in learning and superior academic performance. Ohlone is proud to be known as a Learning College because that phrase underscores our fundamental purpose, and the students here tonight reflect our value in that purpose in extraordinary ways. I am certain as these students present their stories, you will be impressed by their dedication to their educational goals and by what they have learned.

Our college has the reputation for being a quality institution not because of our student achievement alone. Ohlone faculty are among the very best in their disciplines and are wholly dedicated to teaching. We are recognizing the success of these students in a context of institutional excellence.

I extend my most sincere congratulations and good wishes to our outstanding student award recipients and thank the faculty for their commitment to our students.

Gari Browning, Ph.D.
Ohlone Community College District

Any questions? Please contact Barbara Duggal at or call (510) 742-3127.

The awards ceremony is coordinated by the Student Awards Committee, a subcommittee of the Ohlone College Faculty Senate.

Recipients of 2014-2015 Student Awards
Name Award
Bruce Cao Outstanding Student in Accounting
Jordan R. Shipley  Outstanding Student in Administration of Justice
Jack Smith Outstanding Student in Anthropology
Fabrice Takeda Outstanding Student in Fine Art
Jessica Wacker Outstanding Student in ASL & Deaf Studies Department
Nikhil T. Linaval Outstanding Student in Transfer Biology
Stephanie Chen Outstanding Student in Biotechnology
Li Cao Outstanding Student in Chemistry
Viviana V.Martinez Outstanding Student  in Chicana/o Studies
Jedaiel Maling Outstanding Student in Computer Applications and Occupational Technology
Mohammad Shoaib Rasooli Counseling Department Student of the Year
Felix R. Gonzalez  Outstanding Student in the Deaf Program
Narinder Kaur DSPS Outstanding Student
Areli Vazquez-Munoz Outstanding Student in Engineering
Jingyuan Zhang Outstanding Student in the English Language Institute
Nick Evans Outstanding Student in Creative Writing
Roland Baldwin Outstanding Student in English Literature 
Monica Martinez Outstanding Student in Environmental Studies
Rhea P. Kerawala  Outstanding Student in Spanish
David G. Linale Outstanding Student in Chinese
Kivraj Singh Outstanding Student in Forensics/Speech & Debate
Aimee Garza Outstanding Student in Graphic Arts
Alfonso Hernandez  Outstanding Student in Health & Wellness
Jessica Berdak Outstanding Award in the Department of History
Htet Yi Linn Outstanding International Student 
Toune Saengsoury Outstanding Student in Interior Design
Mitchell Walther Journalist of the Year
Rachel Lim Outstanding Student in Mathematics
Alexsander Lefkort Outstanding Student for Music 
Thairak Tungpagasit Outstanding Student in Multimedia
Sarah Braun  Outstanding Student in Real Estate
Cynthia Bares Outstanding Student in Nursing
Amy Hoffman Outstanding Student in Philosophy 
Li Cao Outstanding Student in Advanced Physics
John Sunseri Outstanding Student in the Physical Therapist Assistant Program
Karina Bermudez Outstanding Student Respiratory Therapist
Heather Lane Outstanding Student in Sociology
Antonio Reza Outstanding Student in Speech & Communication Studies 
Kim Dutrow Outstanding Student in Acting and Directing
Skip plugin notice.

Adobe Reader (free) or other browser plug-in/add-on for opening PDF documents is required to open files on this page marked "PDF".

Microsoft Windows Media Player (free; Windows) or Flip4Mac (free; Mac) or other browser plug-in/add-on that can play WMV files is required to play the Windows Media Video webcast, video, and/or audio files on this web page. Additional information.