Student Awards Ceremony 2011-2012

The 2011-2012 Student Awards Ceremony was held Thursday, May 10, 2012 in Jackson Theatre, at the Smith Center. The ceremony was preceded by a reception in the lobby of the Smith Center.

Miss the event? See the photo slideshow below.

In the event's program, Ohlone College President Gari Browning extended the following welcome to those attending the ceremony:

Welcome to Ohlone College's annual Student Awards Ceremony. This evening celebrates the academic achievement of our students. Students receiving awards tonight have been chosen by their faculty from among thousands of students at the college for top performance and superior commitment to learning. Ohlone is known as a Learning College and the students receiving awards tonight reflect the fulfillment of that purpose in extraordinary ways. As you listen to the stories of our students, I know you will be impressed and inspired by their accomplishments.

I extend my most sincere congratulations and good wishes to our outstanding student award recipients.

Gari Browning, Ph.D.
Ohlone Community College District

The awards ceremony is coordinated by the Student Awards Committee, a subcommittee of the Ohlone College Faculty Senate.

Female and male students hold an awards certificate up for the camera (2010).Two female students are congratulated by Counselor Allison Bly (2010).

Recipients of 2012 Student Awards

Recipients of 2011-2012 Student Awards
Recipient Award
Steven Vogel Acting
Andrea Graf Anthropology
Chisui Tsai Art
David Harvey ASL & Deaf Studies
Christopher Joseph ASL & Deaf Studies
Randal E. Martinez Biology
Qianyan Li Biology-Transfer
Alex J. Platero Biology-Transfer
Chun Wei Fang BioTechnology
Deanna Bernal BSM
Thein Htaik Chemistry
Leah Dorman Chemistry
Tricia L. Dutra Chicana/o Studies
Mobina Baseer CNET
Li Caruso CAOT
Frank Mock Computer Science
Patricia L. Retanubun Dance
Nicky Lim Deaf Program
Cassie Mastroieni DSPS
Hoyoung Lee ELI
Jaren Feeley English
Sichao "Allan" Jiang English
Wilson Zhang Entertainment Technology
Ju Yeon (June) Bae ESL
Laurie Anderson Foreign Language
Philip Enguancho Forensics
Heather Warren Forensics
Tabatha Stewart Health & Wellness
Kayla M. Briones History
Christina A. Horton-Peterson Interior Design
Nandar Lin (Hanray) International Student
Manika Casterline Journalism
Kaylene de Bord Kinesiology
Jaren Feeley Library Research Paper
Tricia Menchavez Library Research Paper
Xue Fan Math
Anh-Khoa Tran Math
Francisco Hernandez Music
Tricia Menchavez Nursing
Anh-KhoaTran Physics and Astronomy
Thein Htaik Physics and Astronomy
Cheree Simmons PTA
Steve Kopp Real Estate
Terriann Wong Respiratory Therapy
Alaina Gold Sociology
Jamie Lee Madamba Speech & Communications
Hoai Huong Thi Ngo Student Services

[Past Student Awards Recipients]