Student Awards Ceremony 2013-2014

The 2013-2014 Student Awards Ceremony was held Thursday, May 8, 2014 in Jackson Theatre, at the Smith Center. The ceremony was preceded by a reception in the lobby of the Smith Center.

Were you there? "Like" the 2014-2015 Student Awards Ceremony photo slideshow posted on Ohlone College's Facebook Page!

In the event's program, Ohlone College President Gari Browning extended the following welcome to those attending the ceremony:

Welcome to Ohlone College's annual Student Awards Ceremony. This event recognizes the achievement of our students as determined by those who know them best, their faculty. Each student receiving an award tonight represents excellence in learning and superior academic performance. Ohlone is proud to be known as a Learning College because that phrase underscores our fundamental purpose, and the students here tonight reflect our value in that purpose in extraordinary ways. I am certain as these students present their stories, you will be impressed by their dedication to their educational goals and by what they have learned.

Our college has the reputation for being a high quality institution not because of our student achievement alone. Ohlone faculty are among the very best in their disciplines and are wholly dedicated to teaching. We are recognizing the success of these students in a context of institutional excellence.

I extend my most sincere congratulations and good wishes to our outstanding student award recipients and thank the faculty for their commitment to our students.

Gari Browning, Ph.D.
Ohlone Community College District

The awards ceremony is coordinated by the Student Awards Committee, a subcommittee of the Ohlone College Faculty Senate.

Recipients of 2013-2014 Student Awards
Name Award
Jason Manella Outstanding Student in Accounting
James C. Keogh Outstanding Student in Administration of Justice
Gilbert T. Hernandez Outstanding Student in Fine Art
Kristin Schmitz Outstanding ASL Student
Danielle Phoenix Outstanding ASL Student
Byung Gyu Lim Outstanding Deaf Studies Ambassador
Sarah Dorman Outstanding Student in Transfer Biology
Stheven Cabral Outstanding Student in Biotechnology
Christian Reyes Outstanding Student in Biotechnology
Alhad Deshpande General Chemistry Jim Klent Award
Zaw Phyo Outstanding Student in Chemistry
Oscar Rodriguez Outstanding Student in Chicana/o Studies
Richard Flynn Outstanding Student in Chinese
Dasmesh K. Lally Outstanding Student in Computer Applications and Occupational Technology
Sergio Manuel Gil-Billoups Counseling Department Student of the Year
Renee Rietz Outstanding Student in the Deaf Program
Brigette Tran G. DSPS Outstanding Student
Chuong Huynh Outstanding Student in Engineering
Michael Dizon Outstanding Student in Engineering
Tomohiro Ishiguro Outstanding Student in Engineering
Lien-Yu Chen Outstanding Student in the English Language Institute
Kaci Hanson Outstanding Student in English Literature/Creative Writing
John Estanque Outstanding Student in English Composition
Michael E. Good Outstanding Student in Environmental Studies
Reiko Mitsuda Outstanding ESL Student
Philip Enguancho Outstanding Student in Forensics/Speech & Debate
Tomohiro Ishiguro Outstanding International Student
Aurora R. Morris Outstanding Student in Interior Design
Louis LaVenture Journalist of the Year
Jacob Rojas Outstanding Student in Kinesiology
Li Cao Outstanding Student in Mathematics
Chuong Huynh Outstanding Student in Mathematics
Stephanie Hung Outstanding Student in Multimedia
Josue Cruz Outstanding Student in Multimedia
Donna Nguyen Outstanding Student in Multimedia
Jiyoung Park Outstanding Student for Music
Marjorie Nguyen Outstanding Student in Nursing
Renee Wong Outstanding Student in Nursing
Michael Dizon Outstanding Student in Advanced Physics
Chuong Huynh Outstanding Student in Advanced Physics
Liu Tan Outstanding Student in Advanced Physics
Salvador Parayno Outstanding Student in the Physical Therapist Assistant Program
Samuel D. Castillo Outstanding Student Respiratory Therapist
Feruzon Atah Mohammad Outstanding Student in Spanish
Jenny Chang Outstanding Student in Speech & Communication Studies
Ashley Diamond Outstanding Student in Dance
Chris Higareda Outstanding Achievement in Entertainment Design and Technology
Daniel Carpenter Outstanding Achievement in Acting

[Past Student Awards Recipients]

Skip plugin notice.

Adobe Reader (free) or other browser plug-in/add-on for opening PDF documents is required to open files on this page marked "PDF".