Student Awards Ceremony 2015-2016

The 2015-2016 Student Awards Ceremony was held Thursday, May 12, 2016 in Jackson Theatre, at the Smith Center. The ceremony was preceded by a reception in the lobby of the Smith Center.

Were you there? View photos from the May 2016 Student Awards Ceremony!

In the event's program, Ohlone College President Gari Browning extended the following welcome to those attending the ceremony:

Welcome to Ohlone College's annual Student Awards Ceremony. This event recognizes the achievement of our students as determined by those who know them best, their faculty. Each student receiving an award tonight represents excellence in learning and superior academic performance. Ohlone is proud to be known as a Learning College because that phrase underscores our fundamental purpose, and the students here tonight reflect our value in learning in extraordinary ways. I am certain as these students present their stories, you will be impressed by their dedication to their educational goals and inspired by their accomplishments.

Our college has the reputation for being a high quality institution not because of our student achievement alone. Ohlone faculty are among the very best in their disciplines and are wholly dedicated to teaching. We are recognizing the success of these students in a context of institutional excellence.

I extend my most sincere congratulations and good wishes to our outstanding student award recipients and thank the faculty for their commitment to our students.

Gari Browning, Ph.D.
Ohlone Community College District

Any questions? Please contact Barbara Duggal at or call (510) 742-3127.

The awards ceremony is coordinated by the Student Awards Committee, a subcommittee of the Ohlone College Faculty Senate.

Recipients of 2015-2016 Student Awards
Name Award
Vi Doan Outstanding Student in Accounting
John Vargas Outstanding Student in Acting and Directing
Jacob Reist Outstanding Student in Administration of Justice
Katelyn Hengl Outstanding Student in Anthropology
Anh Huynh Outstanding Student in Fine Art
Christian Pettus Outstanding Student in Business Administration
Katherine Anne Peeler Outstanding Student in Chinese
Samantha Campbell Outstanding Student in Communication Studies
R. Shaun Brodie Outstanding Student in Composition
Yoosuf Wardak Outstanding Student in the General Counseling Department
Ivann Gelico Outstanding Student in Dance
Renu Whetstone Outstanding Student in the Deaf Program
Jamie Caron DSPS Outstanding Student
Kelly Martinez Outstanding Student in Engineering
Kelley Martin Outstanding Achievement in Entertainment Design & Technology
Julia Sisk Outstanding Student in English Literature
Ethan Hanson Outstanding Student in Environmental Studies
Samantha Campbell Outstanding Student in Forensics
Erik Hernandez Outstanding Student in Graphic Arts
Eisqil Yuliana Hazamuddin Outstanding International Student
Nabeela Sajjad Outstanding Student in Interior Design
Vanessa Luis Journalist of the Year
Hubert Higueros Outstanding Student in Kinesiology
Melissa Ng Outstanding Student in Mathematics
Cole Berggren Outstanding Student for Music
My-Linh Ha Outstanding Student in Multimedia
Colleen Fryman Outstanding Student in Nursing
Ai Nguyen Outstanding Student in Physics
Naomi Von Harringa Outstanding Student in the Physical Therapist Assistant Program
Eugenie Foote Outstanding Student Respiratory Therapist
Vigneshwari Madhan Kumar Outstanding Student in Sociology
Yaner He Outstanding Student in Statistics

[View Past Student Award Recipients]

Skip plugin notice.

Adobe Reader (free) or other browser plug-in/add-on for opening PDF documents is required to open files on this page marked "PDF".