Committee Members Include:

Name Contact Information Bio
Jennifer Jovel

Jennifer Jovel
(Co-Chair) 
Sociology Instructor
jjovel@ohlone.edu

My parents immigrated to the U.S. from El Salvador and I grew up here in Fremont where I graduated from Kennedy H.S.  After struggling in high school, I enrolled at Ohlone College and became the first person in my family to go to college.  I never imagined that college was a possibility.  However,  the support I received from my Ohlone counselors and instructors, and the wonderful experience I had in M.E.Ch.A. and Chicanx Studies, inspired me to pursue a college education and give back to my community.   

After Ohlone, I transferred to UC Berkeley and majored in Social Welfare and Chicanx Studies.  I felt extremely lucky to earn a bachelors degree and wanted to help others do the same, so I pursued a masters degree in Counseling at San Jose State.  After my masters, I continued going to school and attended Stanford University where I earned another masters degree in Sociology and a Ph.D. in the Sociology of Education.  My educational and career journey has always been focused on working with first-generation college students at the community college level.

It’s an honor to be back at Ohlone where I first started, and I would love to be a part of your journey!    

Mike De Unamuno

Mike De Unamuno

(Co-Chair, Dreamers)
Counselor

mdeunamuno@ohlone.edu

My father immigrated to the U.S. from Panamá & my mother is a proud Chicana from West Oakland. I was born & raised in Fremont & graduated from Irvington High School. After Irvington, I attended Ohlone College and it was here where my commitment to education & community began.

Following Ohlone, I transferred to Sac State where I received a BS in Criminal Justice. Later I attended grad school at San Jose State where I completed my MA in Counseling Education. 

I credit a lot of my success in life to the amazing faculty & staff  I encountered as a student at Ohlone. They truly guided me in the right direction. 

Nabeel Atique

Nabeel Atique 
Math Instructor

natique@ohlone.edu

I am an immigrant from Bangladesh. I came to the US to attend college at age 18, first at the University of Texas at Austin and then Purdue University where I received a Masters in Electrical Engineering . I worked as an engineer in Silicon Valley for 8 years and then followed my heart and become an educator. I love languages and in my spare time I travel (mostly to Latin America), teach yoga and cycle. My number one hobby is speaking Español!