43600 Mission Boulevard, Fremont, CA 94539


Meeting Location: Child Development Center (Fremont Main Campus)


Minutes of Board Meeting

April 25, 2007                                                                                      ADOPTED

Page 1 of 4 Pages                                                                                 Board Approved 5/9/07



Members Present     

Mr. Nick Nardolillo, President

Mr. Garrett Yee, Vice President

Mr. Bill McMillin, Member

Mr. Bob Brunton, Member

Ms. Trisha Tahmasbi, Member

Mr. John Weed, Member

Mr. Richard Watters, Member

Ms. Sahar Yousef, Student Member


Management Present

Dr.  Douglas Treadway, President/Superintendent & Board Secretary

Ms. Deanna Walston, Vice President of Business Services/Deputy Superintendent

Dr. James Wright, Vice President, Academic Affairs/Deputy Superintendent

Mr. Ron Travenick, Vice President of Student Development


College Council

Dr. Thomas Holcomb


Faculty Senate

Ms. Susan Myers



Ms. Linda Evers



Mr. Stewart Dawson



Open Session (Subcommittee Meetings)

Mr. Yee called the meeting to order at 6:08 p.m.



Roll Call

The roll was called.  All were present, except Mr. Nardolillo who arrived at 6:15 p.m. and Ms. Yousef who arrived at 6:50 p.m.




Pledge of Allegiance

Mr. Weed led the pledge of the allegiance.


Ceremonial Item

Assemblymember Torrico administered the oath of office to new Board Member Trisha Tahmasbi.



Subcommittee Meetings Adjourned Time:  6:50 p.m.



Return to Open Session                                Time:  7:04 p.m.



Approval of Minutes

1. (Attachment 1)                 Approval of Minutes (April 11, 2007 Board Meeting)


Motion Approved                  Moved/Watters/Seconded/Yee/Passed to approve minutes of April 11, 2007.  A roll call vote was taken:  Ayes: Nardolillo, McMillin, Brunton, Watters, Weed; Noes:  0; Abstain:  Tahmasbi; Absent: 0. (Advisory Vote:  Aye – Yousef). 



Communications from the Public

Bill McMillin – Presentation of award to Sahar Yousef from Alameda County School Board Association



Agenda Modifications

Board requested agenda item #6 be moved before discussion/action items.



To the Board for Information Only

6.                                          Reports from Board Subcommittees


·        Board Audit Finance and Facilities Subcommittee

Bob Brunton, John Weed, Rich Watters


·        Board Educational Programs and Services Subcommittee

Bill McMillin, Dan Archer, and Sahar Yousef


·        Board College and Community Relations Subcommittee

Nick Nardolillo and Garrett Yee


                                             Information item only.




To the Board for Discussion and/or Action

Mr. Weed removed himself from the table.


2. (Attachment 2)                  Approval of Contract with A. Plescia & Co. for Frontage Development

                                             Advisory Services


Motion Approved                  Moved/Yee/Seconded/McMillin/Passed to approve a contract with A. Plescia & Co. for Frontage Development Advisory Services, as amended.  A roll call vote was taken:  Ayes:  Nardolillo, McMillin, Brunton, Yee, Tahmasbi, Watters; Noes:  0; Abstain:  Weed; Absent:  0; (Advisory Vote:  Aye – Yousef).


Mr. Weed returned to the table.



3. (No attachment)                Board Retreat Planning


                                             The Board Planning Workshop will be held on June 27, 2007.



4. (Attachment 4)                  College Media Policy (BP & AP 4500) – First Reading


Motion Approved                  Moved/Yee/Seconded/Tahmasbi/Passed to approve a first reading of BP & AP 4500, College Media Policy. A roll call vote was taken:  Ayes:  Nardolillo, McMillin, Yee, Tahmasbi, Watters, Weed; Noes:  Brunton; Abstain: 0; Absent: 0; (Advisory Vote:  Aye – Yousef). 



To the Board for Information Only

5.                                          Campus Emergency Procedures


                                             Information item only.



Reports and Announcements

College Council

Faculty Senate



Associated Students









Agenda Items for Future Meetings






Adjournment                           Time:  10:40 p.m.


                                                                                                           Doug Treadway