Student Clubs at Ohlone College

Inter-Club Council (ICC)
&
Ohlone Student Clubs

Inter-Club Council (ICC) Meetings for FALL 2019
began Sept 9, 2019

MONDAYS 12:00pm to 1:00pm

Fremont Campus, Building 7, Room 7101

Agenda 10/21/2019 ICC Meeting

Agenda ICC meeting October 28 2019

2019-2020 Ohlone Student Clubs

Meeting times and locations may vary, we do our best to make sure they're updated frequently.
However, if you're interested in joining a club we advise that you contact the club advisor directly
or attend one of our CLUB DAYS events held at the beginning of each semester.
For more information regarding Club Days please visit: www.ohlone.edu/studentlife/events

**If you're a member of a club and you do not see your club info listed please contact studentlife@ohlone.edu **

If a club name/info is striked out it means they've missed 4 ICC meetings have been deemed inactive.
Please reach out to the advisor if you'd like information regarding the club.

Club Name Purpose of the Club

Meeting

Location,Time, Day(s)

Social Media Advisor's Name  Advisor's Email
A^2Pi To promote the advancement of under represented students and to promote diversity. -FP 32A
-3:30pm-4:00pm
-Mondays & Wednesdays

-4:30pm-5:00pm
-Thursdays
  Rose-Margaret Itua       ritua@ohlone.edu
AI Club To enhance students' coding skills and to explore the field of artificial intelligence/machine learning.

- NC2306
- 1:00pm-3:00pm
- Fridays

AI Club Facebook Link AI Club Instagram Suporn Chenhansa schenhansa@ohlone.edu
American Medical
Student Association (AMSA)
Hosting activities for the pre-health, pre-dental, pre-nursing, pre-pharmacy students to get more exposure to the field. Sharing resources with them. -FP 24A
-12:45pm-1:30pm
-10/22, 11/5, 11/19, 12/03
AMSA FACEBOOK Margaret Kauffman mkauffman@ohlone.edu
American Sign Language (ASL) Club To promote interactions, on & off campus, between Deaf students, ASL students, and interpreter preparation program students. To educate and share the rich culture of the Deaf community within the Ohlone community.

-6104
-12:45pm-1:30pm
-Mondays

  Nan Zhou nzhou@ohlone.edu
Beta Tau Mu 
Honors Society
To encourage a sense of community among high-achieving students and get involved in campus activities relevant to academics. INACTIVE   Andrew Wise awise@ohlone.edu
Black Student Union To improve the ethical treatment and representation of Black students at Ohlone; and to be a safe haven for all Black students while offering membership to non-black students. INACTIVE   Dr. Janice Jones
Tijan White
jjones@ohlone.edu
twhite@ohlone.edu
Business Club To teach students about business. -NC2100
-1:00pm-2:30pm
-Wednesday
  James Andrews jandrews@ohlone.edu
Civic Engagement Club To promote civic engagement among Ohlone College students.

- FP-13
- 1:00pm-2:00pm
- Thursday: 
10/17, 10/31, 11/14, & 12/05

  Katherine Michel kmichel@ohlone.edu
Data Science Club To bring undergrad students together, who have an interest in statistics, in order to build a community which will foster skills and aid in career development. Host events to help fellow students understand how to analyze the data & then connect the information learned to our society. -HH115
-1:00pm-2:30pm
-Thursdays
     
Dot-Slash Computer
Science
To facilitate club members' interest in different fields of computer science. To give members' insights into the different sectors of the tech industry. To encourage other Ohlone students to study programming.

-NC2306
-4:30pm-6:30pm
-Fridays

  Todd Stewart tstewart@ohlone.edu
Entertainment 
Arts Guild
To encourage and support the performing arts at Ohlone. -Green Room
-4:30pm-5:30pm
-Fridays
  Fred Alim falim@ohlone.edu
Game Development Study and creation of both physical and digital games. A club for students wanting to expand their knowledge of game creation and/or pursue game design and development as a career. TBD   Nathan Oliver natedevs@gmail.com
Genders & Sexualities 
Alliance (GSA)
To provide a safe space for people of various identities.

- 7102
- 1:30pm-2:30pm
- Tuesdays

GSA Facebook Kyle Livie
Laurel Richardson
klivie@ohlone.edu
lrichardson@ohlone.edu
IMPACT (Christian) Club To cultivate intimate fellowship and connect with like-minded believers on campus for the purpose of sharing Christ with others.

-7108
-3:30pm-4:45pm
-Wednesdays

-3:30pm-5:30pm
-Thursdays

-NC1310
-3:30pm-5:30pm
-Tuesdays

  Inga Bellamy ibellamy@ohlone.edu
International Club To help international students adapt to life in the US, and to provide opportunities for members to build friendships at the college. TBD   Mandy Yip myip@ohlone.edu
MEChA Promote higher education, culture and history; community service, & outreach to high school. Creating a community where Latinx students can feel comfortable. -4201
-1:00pm-2:00pm
-Tuesdays
  Jennifer Jovel
Brenda Arteaga Reynoso
jjovel@ohlone.edu
BArteaga@ohlone.edu
Muslim Student 
Association (MSA)
To give a safe environment for students to learn about Islam and bond. To hold community events and participate within the Ohlone community.

-7107
-4:00pm-5:00pm
-Tuesdays

  Nadia Dadgar ndadgar@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Badminton Club To provide a casual environment for badminton enthusiants to enjoy the sport. We invite all students regardless of age or experience to come and play.     Robert Smith rsmith55@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Chinese Student
& Scholars Association
(OCSSA)
To help Chinese students become more integrated into Ohlone and their society, provide information and resources to help them achieve their goals. TBD   Yong Gao ygao@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Engineering Club (OEC) To inspire students studying in the STEM field. Participate in a variety of competitions and networking events to involve our students in the community. TBD   Rose Margaret Itua ritua@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Investment Club To encourage students  TBD   Long Nguyen lnguyen129@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Math Club Preparing for the AMA-TYC test; promoting critical thinking.

- NC2102
- 5:00pm-6:00pm
- Mondays

  Liz Pannell epannell@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Physics Club To establish an environment that encourages and inspires students to think outside of the box, and provide real world opportunities TBD   Lowell Hazelton lhazelton@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Psychology Club Discuss issues related to psychology and everyday life, raise awareness related to psychology and get more students involved.

-FP 03
-3:30pm-4:30pm
-Wednesdays

  Sheldon Helms shelms@ohlone.edu
Ohlone South Asian Association (OSSA)

To create a community for the gathering & celebration of South Asian (Indian) culture at Ohlone College. Establish a group where students of South Asian descent can come together to share their experiences with all of Ohlone College

-HH 120
-5:00pm-6:00pm
-Thursdays
  Rakesh Swamy rswamy@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Sustainability Club Promote values of ethic, economics & the environment through inwardly sustainable microsystems here on campus to provide the community with feasible microsolutions. -NC2120
-12:00pm-2:00pm
-Tuesdays
  Jeff Watanabe jwatanabe@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Tai Chi/Qigong Provide extra practice, community service and competition. -NC1407
-11:00am-1:00pm
-Fridays
  May Chen taichiqigonginfo@gmail.com
Ohlone Table Tennis Promote teamwork/sportmanships via table tennis; connect ohlone students and faculty. -Cafeteria (Fremont)
-1:00pm-2:15pm
-10/17, 10/31, 11/14, 12/5
Table Tennis Club Facebook Long Nguyen lnguyen129@ohlone.edu
Renegade Esports Support student gamers at Ohlone College, encourage outreach into high schools, provide competitive opportunities and intercollegiate activities. -NC1100
-3:30pm-9:00pm
-Mondays & Wednesdays
  Deborah Lemon dlemon@ohlone.edu
SACNAS Promote science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) among a diverse population of students at Ohlone. TBD   Maru Grant
Luba Voloshko
mgrant@ohlone.edu
lvoloshko@ohlone.edu
Self Defense Club To share self-defense stratagies and build students' confidence. INACTIVE   Joshua Bollman jbollman@ohlone.edu
Society of Women Engineers
Collegiate Interest Group (SWE)
To support and promote the advancement of women in engineering & stem generally. -FP 30
-3:00pm-3:30pm
-Mondays
Instagram Link

Rose-Margaret Itua

Liz Pannell

ritua@ohlone.edu

epannell@ohlone.edu

United Women of Color To educate, engage, and empower both women and men in our community. To instill a higher level of drive and offer resources in order to nourish those goals. -FP 14
-1:00pm-2:30pm
-Thursdays: 10/17, 11/07, 11/21, 12/05
  Arden Ambrocio aambrocio@ohlone.edu

 

Starting a NEW Club

Don't see a club listed above, and want to start a new one? It's easy...

  1. Gather at least 5 student members willing to regularlarly participate in club activities.
    • Members must be enrolled in classes and have a valid Ohlone Student ID Number
  2. Obtain an ADVISOR.
    • Advisors MUST be employees of Ohlone College and approved by the Office of Student Life
  3. Submit a completed New Club Charter form to the Office of Student Life
  4. Attend the next ICC meeting following submission of the New Club Application form
    • Must attend one of the first 3 ICC meetings for the semester
      • SPRING 2019 ICC Meetings begin on February 4th
        • Mondays 12:00pm - 1:00pm at Fremont Campus, Building 7, room 7101
    • Must present club charter proposal at the meeting.

Inter-Club Council (ICC) Club Handbook

It is expected that all club executives and advisors read through the Club Handbook. The handbook contains information on holding meetings, sponsoring events, participating in ICC, field trip procedures, and much more. It is critical to abide by all club policies and procedures.

Ohlone College Inter-Club Council (ICC) Club Handbook (PDF)

2019-2020 Inter-Club Council (ICC) Meetings

ICC Chair: Moksh Modi 
asocicc-chair@ohlone.edu

DATE LOCATION TIME DOCUMENTS
Sept. 9, 2019 Fremont; 7101 12:00PM - 1:00PM AGENDA; MINUTES
Sept. 16, 2019 Fremont; 7101 12:00PM - 1:00PM AGENDA; MINUTES
Sept. 23, 2019 Fremont; 7101 12:00PM - 1:00PM AGENDA; MINUTES
Sept. 30, 2019 Fremont; 7101 12:00PM - 1:00PM AGENDA; MINUTES
Oct 7, 2019 Fremont; 7101 12:00PM - 1:00PM AGENDA; MINUTES
Oct 14, 2019 Fremont; 7101 12:00PM - 1:00PM AGENDA; MINUTES
Oct 21, 2019 Fremont; 7101 12:00PM - 1:00PM AGENDA; MINUTES
Oct 28, 2019 Fremont; 7101 12:00PM - 1:00PM AGENDA; MINUTES
Nov 4, 2019 Fremont; 7101 12:00PM - 1:00PM AGENDA; MINUTES
Nov 11, 2019 HOLIDAY NO MEETING VETERAN'S DAY
Nov 18, 2019 Fremont; 7101    

 

Frequently Used Forms/Documents

Frequently Asked Questions

**This section is still being constructed. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us at studentlife@ohlone.edu