ICC: Student Clubs

Inter-Club Council (ICC) : Student Clubs

Inter-Club Council (ICC) Meetings for Spring 2021
ICC Handbook & Constitution

ICC meets every Monday 12pm to 1pm
*Except holidays*

Due to COVID-19 precautions we are currently working remotely. Please reach out via email: studentlife@ohlone.edu
Please check your Ohlone Emails. For more information please visit:
ohlone.edu/information-corona-virus

Being a part of a student club is a great way to meet new friends with similar interests and to become a part of the Ohlone community.
The Inter Club Council (ICC) is the coordinating organization and official source of recognition for student clubs.
The club president or a consistent club representative must attend meetings to maintain club status.
Through ICC, clubs stay updated on the latest campus issues, become connected to other clubs and campus leaders, and learn how to organize and schedule club events.

2020-2021 Ohlone Student Club List

Meeting times and locations may vary, we do our best to make sure they're updated frequently. However, if you're interested in joining a club we advise that you contact the club advisor directly or attend one of our CLUB DAYS events held at the beginning of each semester. For more information regarding specific clubs please visit: CLUB PRESENTATIONS (CLICK HERE)

**If you're a member of a club and you do not see your club info listed please contact studentlife@ohlone.edu**

Please reach out to the advisor(s) if you'd like information regarding the club.

 

Club Name Purpose of the Club Meeting
Location,Time, Day(s)
Social Media Advisor's Name Advisor's Email
A^2Pi To promote the advancement of under represented students and to promote diversity.   Instagram LinkAI Club Facebook Link Rose-Margaret Itua       ritua@ohlone.edu
Advocating Success for Children To provide a platform for us to focus on children's life, growth environment, and educational opportunities. To provide members with opportunities to participate in projects that care for children, especially children with special needs, and to exchange ideas. Our mission is to re-recognize and understand the disadvantaged groups, and create better living conditions & education opportunities for them.     Gavin Deare gdeare@ohlone.edu
AI Club To build a collaborative AI community where people can share innovative ideas and work as teams to explore different aspects of AI, no prior knowledge is needed.

 

AI Club Facebook Link AI Club Instagram Suporn Chenhansa schenhansa@ohlone.edu
American Medical
Student Association (AMSA)
Hosting activities for the pre-health, pre-dental, pre-nursing, pre-pharmacy students to get more exposure to the field. Sharing resources with them.

 
AMSA FACEBOOKInstagram Link Margaret Kauffman mkauffman@ohlone.edu
American Sign Language (ASL) Club To promote interactions, on & off campus, between Deaf students, ASL students, and interpreter preparation program students. To educate and share the rich culture of the Deaf community within the Ohlone community.

 

Instagram Link Nan Zhou
Thomas Holcomb

nzhou@ohlone.edu

tholcomb@ohlone.edu

Cards for Courage To provide emotional support to hospital patients and healthcare workers through hand-drawn cards with uplifiting messages. During the global COVID-19 outbreak, we will be sending appreciation cards to hospital workers of local hospitals to show our support.

 

AMSA FACEBOOKInstagram Link Shyam Sundar ssundar@ohlone.edu
Civic Engagement Club To promote civic engagement among Ohlone College students.    

Brad Bettridge

bbettridge@ohlone.edu

Computer Vision Club To introduce the basic knowledge of computer vision to students. Use the knowledge of computer vision to understand the principles of autonomous driving and face recognition. Give members an intuitive experience of computer vision through interesting and inspiring projects.     Chieko Honma chonma@ohlone.edu
Dot-Slash Computer
Science
To facilitate club members' interest in different fields of computer science. To give members' insights into the different sectors of the tech industry. To encourage other Ohlone students to study programming.

 

AMSA FACEBOOKInstagram Link Todd Stewart tstewart@ohlone.edu
Economics Club To create a platform for students who have interests in economic concepts and the economics world, to study behavior and interactions of economics and share their ideas. The club hopes to provide a chance for members to discover their interests and envelope their specific views.   Instagram Link Gul Sabit gsabit@ohlone.edu
Game Development Study and creation of both physical and digital games. A club for students wanting to expand their knowledge of game creation and/or pursue game design and development as a career.

 

GSA Facebook Nathan Oliver natedevs@gmail.com
Genders & Sexualities Alliance (GSA) To provide a safe space for people of various identities.

 

GSA Facebook

Laurel Richardson

Kyle Livie

lrichardson@ohlone.edu

klivie@ohlone.edu
 

Girls Who Code To educate, equip, & inspire girls (and anyone else) interested in programming with technical skills in order to pursue careers or general interests in the field of computer science.

 

 

  Yukai Lin ylin@ohlone.edu
IEEE STEAM Expand the knowledge of members by embarking on ambitious projects with humanitarian focus and promoting Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math through outreach and workshops. Through this club and its projects, members will benefit Ohlone College and the local community.   AMSA FACEBOOKInstagram Link Rose Margaret Itua ritua@ohlone.edu
IMPACT (Christian) Club To cultivate intimate fellowship and connect with like-minded believers on campus for the purpose of sharing Christ with others.

 

 

GSA FacebookInstagram Link Margaret Lee mslee@ohlone.edu
MEChA Promote higher education, culture and history; community service, & outreach to high school. Creating a community where Latinx students can feel comfortable.

 

 

Instagram Link Jennifer Jovel
Brenda Arteaga Reynoso
jjovel@ohlone.edu
BArteaga@ohlone.edu
Muslim Student
Association (MSA)
To give a safe environment for students to learn about Islam and bond. To hold community events and participate within the Ohlone community.

 

GSA FacebookInstagram Link Nadia Dadgar ndadgar@ohlone.edu
Nursing Students of Ohlone Current and future nursing students at Ohlone College raise and donate funds to local community health resources (i.e nursing homes) of our choosing.     Carrie Dameron cdameron@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Business Society To teach students about business.     Rebecca Ozoa rozoa@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Chinese Student & Scholars Association (OCSSA) To help Chinese students become more integrated into Ohlone and their society, provide information and resources to help them achieve their goals.     Yong Gao ygao@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Engineering Society To inspire students studying in the STEM field. Participate in a variety of competitions and networking events to involve our students in the community.

 

 

AI Club Facebook LinkInstagram Link Rose Margaret Itua ritua@ohlone.edu
Ohlone F.A.N.S Club "Food & Nutrition Sciences" To educate students on understanding what is in the food they consume and to help them make right choices, personally & professionally. Develop teamwork skills & sense of responsibility towards themselves and the world. Empower students and encourage interactions between students, faculty, staff & community.

 

 

AI Club Facebook Link Dr. Jasvinder Kaur jkaur@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Psychology Club Discuss issues related to psychology and everyday life, raise awareness related to psychology and get more students involved.     Sheldon Helms shelms@ohlone.edu
Ohlone South Asian Association (OSSA)

To create a community for the gathering & celebration of South Asian (Indian) culture at Ohlone College. Establish a group where students of South Asian descent can come together to share their experiences with all of Ohlone College

  Table Tennis Club FacebookInstagram Link Sweta Mukherje smukherjee3@ohlone.edu
Ohlone Tai Chi/Qigong Provide extra practice, community service and competition.     May Chen taichiqigonginfo@gmail.com
Ohlone Table Tennis Promote teamwork/sportmanships via table tennis; connect ohlone students and faculty.   Table Tennis Club Facebook Long Nguyen lnguyen129@ohlone.edu
Performing Arts Guild To encourage and support the performing arts at Ohlone.   Instagram Link Fred Alim falim@ohlone.edu
Renegade Esports Support student gamers at Ohlone College, encourage outreach into high schools, provide competitive opportunities and intercollegiate activities.

 

Instagram Link Deborah Lemon dlemon@ohlone.edu
Scientific Research Journal Club (SRJC) To stimulate conversations regarding current scientific discoveries, such as rare child genetic disorders, the coronavirus, the next best thing to hands-on research for STEM majors, reading & discussing scientific journals.     Laurel Issel-Tarver Lisseltarver@ohlone.edu
Society of Women Engineers
Collegiate Interest Group (SWE)
To support and promote the advancement of women in engineering & stem generally.   Instagram Link

Rose-Margaret Itua

Liz Pannell

ritua@ohlone.edu

epannell@ohlone.edu

United Women of Color To educate, engage, and empower both women and men in our community. To instill a higher level of drive and offer resources in order to nourish those goals.

 

www.instagram.com/ohloneuwoc Arden Ambrocio aambrocio@ohlone.edu