Historically Black Colleges and Universities Transfer Agreement

On March 17, 2015, the California Community Colleges (CCCs) and several Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) signed an agreement. The agreement guarantees transfer admission to 39 participating HBCU partner schools for transfer students who meet specific eligibility requirements.

Eligibility Requirements

2.0 GPA (some HBCUs require a higher GPA)

Completion of an AA-T/AS-T OR 30 transferable semester units


Application Fee Waiver

Students who qualify for this guarantee also receive an application fee waiver code using the Common Black College Application to apply to the partner HBCU (four max). Meet with a counselor to receive the fee waiver.


Background Information

HBCUs were established primarily to serve the higher education needs of the Black community. However, they are open to students of all ethnicities.


There are just over 100 HBCUs recognized by the US Dept. of Education that include public, private, denominational, liberal arts, land-grant, independent university systems, single-gender serving, researched-based that award Bachelor’s Degrees, Graduate/Masters/Professional Degrees, and Doctoral Degrees offering competitive tuition rates.


Important Links for Students

CCCs to HBCUs Main Webpage HBCUs Upcoming Events Partner Schools