Trustee Garrett Yee Biography - Board of Trustees for the Ohlone Community College District

For over 25 years, Garrett has served our country and our community. Garrett has served as President of Citizens for Better Community, a local service organization; District Chairman for the Boy Scouts of America; Chair of the Fremont Library Advisory Commission; and President of the South Bay Chinese Club of Southern Alameda County.

He has been recognized locally and nationally for his service. The Argus newspaper named Garrett as one of "10 People to Watch in 2003"; Citizens for Better Community named him the "Citizen of the Year" in 2005; the Wall Street Journal featured Garrett and his family for their patriotism in 2006; Garrett, who is an Eagle Scout, was named "Scouter of the Year" by the Boy Scouts of America in 2007; the Indo American Community Federation named him "Citizen of the Year" in 2007; the Asian American Federation of California honored him with the Award for Outstanding Public Service in 2010; the Fremont Bulletin & The Argus awarded him the 2010 Readers Choice BEST of Fremont Best Elected Official; and the Alsion Montessori Foundation in Fremont recognized him as the "2010 Montessori Community Honoree."

As an officer of the Army Reserves, Garrett Yee has deployed in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom (2006), Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan (2011-2012), and Operation Inherent Resolve in Kuwait (2014-2015). He is one of a few individuals who holds an elected office and has served our country with the military in both Iraq and Afghanistan.

Garrett is the Director for Outreach and Education at the Workers' Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau of California where he has worked since 1989.

Garrett holds a Bachelor's degree from Santa Clara University, a Masters of Business Administration from Golden Gate University, and a Masters in Strategic Studies from the United States Army War College. Garrett and his wife Maria have two sons and one daughter.

Teresa Cox.
Greg Bonaccorsi.
Rich Watters.
Vivien Larsen.
Garrett Yee.
Ishan Shah.
Jan Giovannini-Hill.
Miguel Fuentes.